Thursday, March 3, 2011

The New Partners Pagius

*News From the Glamorous World of Bookselling*
"Vidi, vici, veni . . ."
--Julius Caesar
1) THE CRIME OF THE CENTURIUS . . . I had the honor of joining former prosecuter, and now aspiring author Marcia Clark at Troppos last night. You may recall that Ms. Clark was the prosecuting attorney in the famous trial with gladiator Orenthalius Janus Simpsonian, or as his fans called him, O.J. It seems like only yesterday that we watched O.J. fleeing Rome in his white chariot with Praetorians in hot pursuit. We heard the grim details of the double murder of his ex-wife and her friend. Finally defending attorney F. Ledo Baleius made his famous quote, "If the glove doesn't fitus, you must aquitus." Marcia co-wrote the bestseller Without A Doubt about the trial, and her first fiction title, Guilt By Association (9780316129510) 25.99, also draws on her experience as an attorney. The food and company at Troppos were worthy of any of Caligula's orgies. Also, the nectar of Bacchus was flowing as fast as the Tiber River. Good times. Ms. Clark's book with her main character DA Rachel Knight will appeal to fans of both Johannes Grishium and Scottus Turowian, so I would anticipate big sales right out of the Augean gates. Her book Guilt By Association will be released in both scroll and palm-leaf manuscript on XX Aprilis, MMXI . . .

2) IF ONLY ALL OF ROME HAD ONE NECK . . . Between our illustrious Emperor Caligula subduing Neptune and the nomination of Incitatus, his horse, as both Consul and priest, fantasy fiction has been regaining popularity in leaps and bounds. I read a bit of the fantasy genre myself and I have had several fans recommend Patricius Rothfius' Name of the Wind: The Kingkiller Chronicles (9780756404741) 8.99. The Wise Man's Fear (9780756404734) 29.95 is the long-awaited sequel in an anticipated trilogy. I can assure you that his fans are not going to wait for the palm-leaf manuscript, so order up on this one . . .

3) GREAT THINGS ARE WON BY GREAT DANGERS . . . Move over Herodotus, Jeania Auelius has returned after a ten-year hiatus to regale us again with the ancient adventures of Ayla in her upcoming title, The Land of Painted Caves (9780517580516) 30.00. Predating Romulus and Remus, Ayla and her mate Jondalar with their infant daughter Jonayla have settled in with the clan of the Ninth Cave of Zelandonaii. Nobody said pre-history was easy, and Ms. Auelius backs that up with tales of wild beasts, a vindictive hunter named Balderan, and an earthquake that would make Pompeii tremble. I would doublecheck her backlist:
  • The Clan of the Cave Bear (9780553250428) 8.99
  • The Valley of the Horses (9780553250534) 8.99
  • The Mammoth Hunters (9780553280944) 8.99
  • The Plains of Passage (9780553289411) 8.99
  • The Shelters of Stone (9780553289428) 8.99
It will be on-sale on XXIX Martius, MMXI. Deo Gratias . . .


Odds & Sods
In Michigan, the piles of snow are turning black and brown, and it can only mean one thing -- it's time for the pitchers and catchers to report to spring training camp. Baseball season is right around the corner (of Kaline and Trumbull). Irwin Cohen, who wrote Echoes of Detroit (9780967757001) 19.95 is also a lifelong Detroit Tigers fan, and he's put together a nice little book celebrating their former and current venues called Tiger Stadium / Comerica Park (9780967757049) 19.95. Go get 'em Tigers!

Sleeping Bear Press has had a lot of success with their 'little' book series. And now their latest edition is Little Baseball (9781585365470) 7.95 and it teaches the youngsters the basic rules of America's pastime . . .

No comments:

Post a Comment